Posted by: Tom Duch | January 22, 2010

Welcome to Miami

We’re down to the final 4 in the NFL and it’s time to decide who’s going to be squaring off in Super Bowl XLIV (that’s 44 for those non-Romans out there). Three out of four home teams dismantled their opponents last week with the exception of the New York Football Jets who keep on surprising everyone, everyone except for themselves that is. Rex Ryan is as confident as ever, and he has his team believing they will be off to Miami , as evident by this photo.

The Colts are about even odds to win the Super Bowl, the Saints 2 to 1, the Vikings 4 to 1, and Ryan’s Jets have about 7 to 1 odds. I’m sticking with my guns here, as you loyal readers know I never turn my back on the Wolfpack, so I am sticking with my original Super Bowl pick I made before the start of the playoffs: Colts vs. Vikings. I’ve been hot, let’s see if I can keep it that way.

Jets @ Colts -8

Like I said, I’m sticking with my pick of the Colts going to the Super Bowl, but it was hard to do. The Jets are doing exactly what it takes to win in late January, run the ball and play great defense. They held the Chargers to under 20 points for the first time all season, and rookie Shonn Greene had another 100 yard day. That game very well could have gone the other way though, as Nate Kaeding missed three field goals after missing only three all season and Greene was bottled up for the most part before his late 53 yard TD run that would end up being the game winner. I do like the Jets, but I just like the Colts better. Colts win it, but the Jets cover, I’m gonna predict a 23- 17 ball game.

Vikings @ Saints -3.5

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, get out your Wrangler’s. The Saints are at home and they’re favored, but I just don’t think they are capable of winning the big game. Brees and the offense looked unstoppable earlier in the year but not so much at the end of the year. Sure they put up 45 points last week but that was against a Cardinals D that gave up 90 points in two playoff games. The Vikings D is no joke, and they will be coming for Brees all day. Reggie Bush had his once a year monster game, but he’ll come back to earth this week. Meanwhile, Adrian Peterson is due for a big game. He is still in my opinion the game’s best back, and he hasn’t exploded for over 100 yards since week 10. I like the Vikings here, and I like Wrangler’s stock to go up a few points as Favre goes back to the Super Bowl. I’m gonna say Vikings take it 31-28

Last week:

3-1 picking winners

4-0 against spread

Overall:

6-2 picking winners

6-2 against spread

Leave a Reply

Categories

