Posted by: Tom Duch | March 9, 2011

The HERD’s the word for the Rock Band Bracket

With Selection Sunday breathing down our necks, it’s time to get in full-on bracket mode. It’s not quite time to fill out our real brackets, but several fake ones can be found on ESPN.com.

In 2009 they put out the Best Video Game Character bracket and since it’s a sports site, of course Tecmo Bo took home the trophy. This year there are a couple good ones: Doug Gottlieb has a Sports Video Game bracket, but because he included Ivan Stewart’s Super Off Road and Arch Rivals as the 4 vs 5 matchup but didn’t include Griffey Slugfest or NBA Hangtime (he did whaaaat!!??), and because WWF No Mercy didn’t make it out of the first round, I’m not here to talk about that that one.

Instead I am going to break down Colin Cowherd’s Rock Band bracket. I love the idea, and I love a lot of the matchups, so I’m going to break down my picks right here for you. On the ESPN Radio site they don’t let you pick through the whole bracket, instead just the first round. But I went through the whole bracket, and here are my picks:

Biggest Snub- I know you’re a Boston sports fan Cowherd, but have you ever heard of THE BOSS. The fact that Bruce and the E Street Band isn’t on here is a crime. They call him The Boss for a reason.

1st Round Winners-

West Region:

Rolling Stones, Motley Crue, Queen, The Police, The Cars, Journey, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Foreigner

Breakdown:

Most of these picks were easy, aside from a difficult 3/14 game for AC/DC and one of those thrilling 7/10 games between Jackson 5 and Skynyrd. AC/DC got a tough draw in Journey, and unfortunately they were sent home packing early. My brother, a music theory major, described the 7/10 matchup with the statement, “you could literally kill yourself over this decision.” I didn’t get that far, but I settled on Skynyrd, which actually became a big decision for the second round.

The 14 seeded Journey upset was a big one, but not the biggest in this bracket. I also went with the big boy upset, 15th seeded Foreigner over Nirvana. Am I seeing Double Vision, no. And it doesn’t Feel Like the First Time with a 15 over a 2 (Iowa State), so I had to pick the upset.

Midwest Region:

Led Zeppelin, Allman Brothers, Styx, Metallica, Bob Marley and the Wailers, The Doors, Phish, Eagles

Breakdown:

Probably the hardest pick in the entire first round came in the Midwest bracket. The old 5/12 matchup struck again, this time with Styx taking down Rush. This was such a tough pick for me, but seeing Styx live put them over the edge in my mind. I’m sure Rush puts on a great show too, but Adam Sandler knew what he was talking about in Big Daddy, and I’m with him.

Another 7 over 10 here, and although I can’t even name one Phish song, my hatred for the Ramones runs deep. Plus, there’s got to be a reason all those Phish-heads follow them around.

East Region:

U2, The Clash, Bon Jovi, Aerosmith, Parliament-Funkadelic, The Who, Grateful Dead, Pink Floyd

Breakdown:

U2 got a 1 seed, and even though they’re by far the worst top seed, they’re in probably the easiest bracket. The decision of Bon Jovi against Dave Matthews was a tough one, but when you hear a person who doesn’t know a word of English sing every word to Livin’ on a Prayer, you’ve got to give credit where credit is due.

If I didn’t take History of Rock at Drexel there’s no way I would’ve picked George Clinton’s boys over Sublime; thank you Scott Bacon.

Far East Region:

The Beatles, Def Leppard, Pearl Jam, Jimi Hendrix Experience, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Guns N’ Roses, Kiss, Van Halen

Breakdown:

This was definitely the easiest region to pick in round one. There wasn’t even a second guess or any doubt about any of these winners, just a sad feeling going out to Creed for drawing the band that changed music forever. If only you were seeded HIGHER boys.

Stay tuned next week when I fill out the rest of the bracket after the first round voting has concluded. Make sure you vote for yourself, and be sure to let me know if you agree/disagree with my big upsets.

Leave a Reply

Categories

